I have read that property values are increasing. Will this affect the valuation of my property in Delta County?

What will affect property valuations in Delta County is how the real estate market has behaved here during the 18 months prior to June 30, 2018.  First, under Colorado law, the sales data collection period for 2019 and 2020 tax years ended on June 30, 2018 (Colorado requires re-appraisal of all taxable real property to a new level of value every two years—2019 was a “general re-appraisal year”; 2020  is an “intervening” year.) Second, both sales volume have increased and sales prices are generally increasing in Delta County during the data collection period, however, sales price changes have not been universal or even across the county.  Colorado law requires that the Assessor’s appraisal models be representative of the real estate market based on actual arms-length sales that have occurred.  The data collection period for valuations for tax years 2019 and 2020 starts January 1, 2017, and ends June 30, 2018 - what the 2019 valuations will look like will depend on how the Delta County real estate market behaves during the 18 months that began on January 1, 2017.  Please note that these dates are not determined by the assessor, but are set by Colorado statute.  Colorado law (and two published Colorado Court Cases) prohibits the Assessor from considering any sales that occurred after June 30, 2018 for purposes of tax year 2019 and 2020 valuations.

Show All Answers

1. Will property valuations for tax assessments be changing in Delta County in 2020?
2. I have read that property values are increasing. Will this affect the valuation of my property in Delta County?
3. How will foreclosures occurring in Delta County affect property valuation for 2019?
4. I don’t understand why there should be a property tax at all. It seems like a very unfair tax. Why does it continue to be used?
5. The Colorado property tax seems especially inequitable and unfair—especially to commercial property owners. Why is this?
6. Can you estimate my taxes based on the value of my property?
7. Who makes the rules on property assessment?
8. News media stories have indicated that nearly all taxpayers who contest their assessment get a substantial reduction in value that significantly reduces their tax. Is that true?
9. I think you have the correct value on my property, but I feel my taxes are too high. What can you do about that?
10. I thought the “Taxpayer Bill of Rights (TABOR) Amendment” said that taxes could not go up, yet my valuation has increased. How can that be?
11. I built my house myself. It cost me much less than the value you have assigned to it. Can’t you take my cost into account when you value it?
12. The farmer/rancher next door to me has a much lower value on his land than I do on my residential lot. Why?
13. I am an agricultural landowner with a residence on my land that I do not use as an integral part of my agricultural operation. Why did my property value go up?
14. My business real estate has about the same actual value as my residence, but the tax for the commercial property was more than 3½ times my residential tax last year. Why?
15. What do my property taxes pay for?
16. What records contained in the Assessor’s office are public?
17. How does the Assessor’s Office determine what the selling prices were for real property?
18. An appraiser from your office visited my property recently. Why?
19. How do I know that an individual visiting my property is an appraiser from your office?
20. What do I do if I feel that the information contained in the Assessor’s records is incorrect? What if I have concerns about my valuation?
21. If I request that an appraiser field visit my property, do I have to pay for that individually?
22. I know that there are structures on my property or other properties that you do not have assessed. Why should I tell you about that?